Who I am?

My name is Kiara Navarro, most commonly known as sophiekovalevsky at 3w. A couple of years ago I got my degree in Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering.

Since my departure from university, I've been dabbling in the embedded realm with a laser-focus on Internet of Things and how this industry relates to wireless communications.

My main activities gravites toward developing consumer electronics devices with some connectivity to Internet throughout signals deployed over the electromagnetic spectrum.

I'm appasionate about open source and hardware systems. I enjoy the feeling of pealing layer by layer until get to the point where there is no more to inspect that only charge in movement throughout a track within a printed circuit board.
The conventional skill profile that a conventional electronic engineer should acquires does not fit to me. I would rather consider my ability bagpack ranging from what is required to design a printed circuit board (hardware knowledge) and develop a decent firmware stack to flash into a physical device. (software background).
That's the magic in diving within IoT applications, is the fact that hardware and software worlds are (git) merged. There isn't crystal clear distintion between these two disciplines and it's way obvious nowadays how important is for an engineer to be knowledgeable in both niches.

Activities and fields that I care about

  • Embedded Systems

    Embedded Systems is literally: insane. Just think about how the hardware talks with the software? Create, design, analize and deploy systems in several arquitectures is not an easy task, but the knowledge extracted through the whole experience makes you more valuable as a professional.

  • Electronics

    As I always say, everything can be seen as an interaction between charges. Electronics is everywhere and is so really fun because you can create almost everything. I feel happy each time when I teach people how electronics can be applied on the daily basics.

  • Travels

    At early ages I begun travel around the world. This is my second passion. I really love being in differents contries, meeting people and learning from their culture. The intercultural change is vital for me. I have visited several countries doing the things that I like most. It is that freaking awesome, isn't it?

  • Literature

    During my high school years I started reading books of various literary genres. When university came into my life, I changed the topics towards those technical to gain more knowledge in my career. Now, I turned into a diverse reader.

  • Languages

    The beauty about languages is that you could express a main idea in many differents ways and every language have their spark. Currently I speak Spanish, English and Portuguese.

  • Sports

    Not so long, I discovered my interest in sports. It is a discipline that requires organization and perseverance. No Pain No Gain. I enjoy my running times. However, in less than two years I will improve my climb skills, to be at Everest Base Camp.

Get in touch

Feel free to contact me through any of the platforms below.